If you've configured a geo-fence, a
location message will
contain the elements:
radius (if its value is greater than 0)
description with the name you set for the waypoint
eventwith a value of
"leave", depending on whether the device is entering or leaving a configured region, respectively.
If you set up a shared waypoint, the app publishes that waypoint (without the retain flag,
irrespective of your general preference) to the base topic with
tacked onto the topic (e.g.
owntracks/<user>/<device>/waypoint) with the
_type=waypoint as specified in the JSON page. For waypoints with disabled sharing, no waypoint message is published. These can be used to note down locations privately. But note that entering or leaving a waypoint will be published as a
location message as described above.
When you set up a shared waypoint (with a
description and a
waypoint is published to the broker with the current time stamp. If you update
the waypoint definition on the device at a later stage, the waypoint is
re-published, with the original timestamp, but with possibly new
radius. To be precise, the
tst timestamp is used as an
identifier of the waypoint even if it is later modified on the device. For waypoints that are not shared, the above obviously does not apply.
Subscribers to the broker (our apps and any other program) can avoid getting
waypoints by subscribing to, say,
owntracks/+/+; also broker ACLs can
prohibit access to
owntracks/+/+/waypoint for particular users if so desired.
Conversely, all messages published by the apps (
available with a subscription to
The OwnTracks apps may keep track of waypoints, e.g. for displaying to users.